List of UK Counties

List of UK Counties

Over the years I have often needed an accurate list of UK Counties. You would think in this day and age it would be easy to find one online, but I never could. Although I would find some quite easily, they either turned out to be outdated or just wrong.

So about ten years ago I started keeping my own list, making amends regularly to ensure it was always up to date. I have published the latest version of the list below.

English Counties – List of Counties in England

  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Humberside
  • Isle of Wight
  • Isles of Scilly
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Somerset
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Gloucestershire
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne & Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire

Scottish Counties – List of Counties in Scotland

  • Aberdeenshire
  • Angus
  • Argyll & Bute
  • Ayrshire
  • Banffshire
  • Berwickshire
  • Borders
  • Caithness
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dumfries & Galloway
  • Dunbartonshire
  • East Ayrshire
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • East Lothian
  • East Renfrewshire
  • Fife
  • Highland
  • Inverclyde
  • Kincardineshire
  • Lanarkshire
  • Midlothian
  • Moray
  • North Ayrshire
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Orkney
  • Perth & Kinross
  • Renfrewshire
  • Shetland
  • South Ayrshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • Stirlingshire
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • West Lothian
  • Western Isles

Welsh Counties – List of Counties in Wales

  • Blaenau Gwent
  • Bridgend
  • Caerphilly
  • Cardiff
  • Carmarthenshire
  • Ceredigion
  • Conwy
  • Denbighshire
  • Flintshire
  • Gwynedd
  • Isle of Anglesey
  • Merthyr Tydfil
  • Monmouthshire
  • Neath Port Talbot
  • Newport
  • Pembrokeshire
  • Powys
  • Rhondda Cynon Taff
  • Swansea
  • Torfaen
  • Vale of Glamorgan
  • Wrexham

List of Counities in Northern Ireland

  • Antrim
  • Armagh
  • Down
  • Fermanagh
  • Londonderry
  • Tyrone



Please feel free to use the list, or if you have used it before, please continue to use the list.
I would be very grateful if you would credit back the site though.

If you do notice any mistakes or are aware of some changes that I have not picked up on, please comment below.


11 Replies to “List of UK Counties”

      1. Bath and North East Somerset is not a county and never was defined as a county, it’s only a borough.

                There are different types of counties for different purposes for example:-

        1. administrative, metropolitan and non-metropolitan counties for the purpose deliverance of public services .

        2. counties for Lord lieutenancy for the purpose for the queens representative.

        3. Counties for historic, traditional, cultural and sporting purpose. Its defined under the read traffic legislation has ‘historic county. Many organization is still use Historic county.  office of national statistics added historic Counties to its database as a entity in it own right   

        UK county system is not as simple as what you many like to believe. i understand the allot of people  demands certainty.



  1. Bath and North East Somerset is not a defined county and never was, its only a borough. There are many types of defined counties for different purposes. Example.
    1. administrative, metropolitan counties and non-metropolitan counties, 2. ceremonial or lord lieutenancy county, this is what your list is based on.
    3. Historic or traditional counties, defined under the road traffic legislation has ‘historic Counties’ for the purposes of history, culture, tradition and sport. a large amount of civil organization are today still based on Historic Counties..

    useful links:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *